CCSD announces school choice application period

CCSD announces school choice application period
February 07 11:21 2019 Print This Article

The Charleston County School District (CCSD) announced Wednesday that its school choice application period for the 2019-2020 school year will run from Monday, February 11 to Monday, March 11. The application decisions will be released April 18.

CCSD is providing additional support services for parents to navigate the application process. At the suggestion of the 2018 Clemson University Diversity and Inclusion study, parents will be able to fill out paper applications, available at eight locations throughout the county. There will also be parent assistance nights scheduled in each of the eight constituent school districts and School Choice Fairs Saturday, February 23 from 10 am to 1 pm at C.E. Williams Middle in West Ashley, St. John’s High on Johns Island, North Charleston High School, and Whitesides Elementary in Mt. Pleasant.

Here are the categories available in the CCSD school choice programs:

Countywide criteria magnet schools. Buist Academy (K-8) and Academic Magnet (9-12) screen students based on aptitude test scores. School of the Arts (6-12) screens student based on auditions or portfolios in different artistic disciplines.

Countywide magnet schools. Open to all Charleston County students through a lottery system. These include Advanced Placement Academy and Lowcountry Tech, both housed at Burke High, Charleston Progressive Academy (K-5) downtown and Military Magnet Academy (6-12) in North Charleston.

Constituent district magnet. Ashley River Creative Arts Elementary School is available to all residents living in West Ashley Constituent District 10.

Partial magnet schools. There are 13 schools in this category, involving a specific attendance zone or academic theme. Several examples include St. Andrews Math and Science Elementary in West Ashley, Memminger School of Global Studies downtown, and North Charleston Creative Arts Elementary.

Montessori magnet schools. There are five CCSD schools which incorporate the Montessori method of instruction, involving inquiry learning in multi-grade level classes. They are Frierson Elementary on Wadmalaw Island, James Simons Elementary (K-8, downtown), Hursey (K-8) in North Charleston, Montessori Community School (K-8) in West Ashley and Murray-Lesesne Elementary on James Island. Most of these programs enroll pre-kindergarten students.

Public charter schools. There are 10 public charter schools which participate in the CCSD school choice application process. A few examples are Orange Grove Charter School (K-8) in West Ashley, East Cooper Montessori (6-8) in Mt. Pleasant, and Allegro Academy of Music (6-12) downtown.

Statewide charter schools. These schools schools have their own application processes and are available to any South Carolina residents. Some of them have already concluded their application periods. They are Palmetto Scholars Academy (6-12) in North Charleston, Lowcountry Leadership Academy (K-12) in Hollywood, Oceanside Collegiate Academy (9-12) in Mt. Pleasant, and Cape Romain Environmental Education Charter School (K-8) in McClellanville. Go to their websites to learn about their application processes.