Senn Chairs Flooding Prevention Task Force meeting

Senn Chairs Flooding Prevention Task Force meeting
October 16 06:10 2018 Print This Article

State Senator Sandy Senn chaired the initial meeting of the Charleston County Inter-governmental Flooding Prevention Task Force Monday at North Charleston City Hall. The committee was formed by Charleston County Legislative Delegation Chair Peter McCoy in August as a way to get local, county and state government entities to cooperate in dealing with drainage issues.

The Charleston County Legislative Delegation consists of eight State Senators and 14 State Representatives who have constituents within the county. It has an office staff at North Charleston City Hall. Senn asked people to report their drainage problems to delegation staff member Cathy Collum at or 843-740-5855. The goal is to get local, county and state officials to walk through the impacted areas with the respondent and come up with a plan to improve drainage there.

Senn, whose district includes most of James Island and West Ashley and parts of Dorchester County, recently undertook a similar effort focusing on James Island drainage. She assembled representatives from Charleston County, City of Charleston, Town of James Island, James Island Public Service District and SCDOT to develop an integrated drainage plan, which will involve ten retention ponds. Senn said, “If you want to solve the problem, you need to have everyone in the room.”

The Flooding Prevention Task Force will focus on near-term solutions which can be accomplished within the existing governmental budgets. Other drainage issues, such as the $43 Million Church Creek Drainage Basin plan in West Ashley, will require new funding sources. The next task force meeting is scheduled for Monday, January 28.