West Ashley revitalization commission in place

West Ashley revitalization commission in place
September 29 15:49 2016 Print This Article

Charleston City Council recently approved Mayor John Tecklenburg’s slate of 19 members for the long-anticipated West Ashley Revitalization Commission. The commission is asked with developing a master plan for West Ashley economic development, housing, drainage, traffic, parks and quality of life.

The commission will be chaired by City Councilman Peter Shahid and includes Mayor Tecklenburg, City Councilman Marvin Wagner, City Councilman James Lewis, St. Andrews Public Service District Commissioner John deStephano, County Councilwoman Colleen Condon, Anne Frances Bleeker, Morris Ellison, Justin Ferira, Joseph Grant, Harry Gregorie, Diane Hamilton, Donna Jacobs, Charleston County School Board member Michael Miller, John Osborne, Jimmy Palassis, Amy Riley, Charlie Smith and Jonathan Zucker.

Tecklenburg also appointed members to 10 committees, including Neighborhoods (Carmen Nash, Teresa Tidestrom, Maria Aselage, and Sue Stevens), Design and Cultural Arts (Dinos Liollio, John Hagerty, Susan Irish, and Joel Trantham), Economic Development (Steve Dykes, Alex Fraser, Charles Steinert, and Harold Washington), Housing (Irene Whaley, Alex Fraser, and David Hoffman, Jr.), Parks and Recreation (Harry Lesesne, Jerry Regenbogen, and Anthony Vandross), Public Works (Bill MacKenzie and Barry Whalen), Senior Citizens (Gary White, Sr.), Sustainability (Katie Zimmerman), Technology (Mike Duck, Emma Paz, and Herbert Partlow), and Transportation (Jeff Burns).

The commission will establish a regular meeting time and place.  For voting purposes, a quorum of 10 commission members is required to establish a quorum.

Councilman Wagner is ready to get the process started.  “This is what the people of West Ashley have been waiting for,” he said.  “We need to get to work and come up with plans that can be acted upon in a timely manner.”