Fields set for school board races

Fields set for school board races
August 16 15:51 2016 Print This Article

The local election boards have certified the candidates who will appear on the ballot November 8 for the non-partisan school board races.

There are five seats up for Charleston County School Board. Candidates have residency requirements but are elected county-wide. North Area candidates Chris Collins (incumbent), Kevin Hollinshead, Russ Patterson and Louis Smith are competing for two seats. Incumbent Todd Garrett is running against Tony Lewis for the Downtown seat. Incumbent Michael Miller will square off against Priscilla Jeffrey and former school administrator Gary Leornard for two West Ashley seats.

In Dorchester School District 2, which consists of Summerville, parts of North Charleston and unincorporated areas in southern Dorchester County, six candidates will compete for three at-large seats. They include Chairwoman Lisa Tupper, incumbent Barbara Crosby, John Hull, Evan Guthrie, Pat Parker and Christian Simmons.

Berkeley County School District has single-member voting districts. In District 1 (Daniel Island/Hanahan), Michael Ramsey is unopposed. Laura Kelly and Timothy Davis are vying for District 3 (Sedgefield/Goose Creek). Brian Adams and David Barrow are competing in District 5 (College Park/Goose Creek). The District 7 (St. Stephen/Bonneau) contest is between Rev. Julius Barnes and Kelly Spann. Current Chairman Jim Hayes is opposed by Louise Ann Conder in District 9 (Nexton).

The three school districts are among the ten largest in the state. Charleston County School District has a $430 Million annual operating budget and has been plagued by budget problems.